top of page
  • Writer's picturekfstouse

Day One Is Done: On the Road to Little Dribbling...

On the day of surgery, Julian and Sue gave me a Bill Bryson book called On the Road to Little Dribbling. You might think it is kidney related, but it isn't. The book is about Bryson's adventures "rambling" (a British term for taking long walks--and Little Dribbling is a metaphorical British village). As I was doing my own rambling today, I thought often of that book and the moment in which it was given to me. And I could sense Julian with me, mostly inquiring what in the world had possessed me to ramble for so long in 90-degree heat in the wilds of Cass and Miami Counties, Indiana.

My response? Because it was a wonderful day. Granted, I couldn't guarantee during the day before--when my hip ached and my neck muscles were knotted and my lower back throbbed--that I would even be able to finish the 15 miles upright. I can tell you now that I haven't done such continuous distance in decades (even when I'm marching around London, I do stop to sit down now and again). All of those aches and pains were all stress related. Mostly, I didn't want to let anyone down. But when I woke up this morning, I felt ready to ramble. No aches and pains (I'm having those now, but at least they've been earned), and no trepidation.

And it was indeed a wonderful day. Jeff and Sue were there for me at every turn (pretty much literally--and what a comfort to know that I wasn't alone). I met a lot of nice people: one who offered extra water and kind words about the Ridlens, one who offered his very charming straw farmer's hat, and one who took a moment to tell me all about the house he has restored. With one exception, all of the dogs were inside today (and the exception was tied). I didn't see even one little squashed snake on the road or live ones in the bean fields I cosied up to when vehicles approached. And every one of the many, many, many uphills I encountered (if you think Indiana is nothing but flat, visit Miami County) was accompanied by a relatively long flat stretch just when I needed one. And nearly everyone driving in my vicinity acknowledged me by giving me plenty of room on the shoulder and by waving back; most even slowed down a bit. I did a lot of praying today, and every prayer was answered.

Perfect? No. But the good news is that I didn't feel the heat until Mile 12.5 (and then, yes indeed, I really felt it). Though I spent a lot of time on dew-covered lawns (more sidewalks needed, Logansport!) and in the weeds on county roads, my soggy shoes and socks did not, as I had feared, cause a blister. (I'm sure my Appalachian Trail experts Jean Deeds and Becky Jones would tell me I probably should have changed them earlier than I did...and they would be right. Next time, I'll listen.) When I felt a little wobbly with two miles to go, Jeff was there with water and another KIND bar (that is an unpaid endorsement) and before I knew it, I could see the stoplights on Indiana 31, the end of today's trail (and if you look at the bottom middle photo closely, you can see those lights, too--at the top of one final uphill).

And the truth is that I LIKED walking today. When there was no traffic on those county roads, the walking was peaceful, a lot like a British ramble. I was blessed by many pleasant surprises, such as the squirrel drinking from a pothole in the road, the Loch Ness Field Monster (see the photo), and the geese who passed me walking in the opposite direction. I was delighted to be there for and with Julian today...on our version of the road to Little Dribbling.

I'd do it all over again. In fact, I will. Tomorrow is the Peru-to-Kokomo version. See you on the Nickel Plate Trail!

For those of you who like the particulars, here they are:

*We started one minute early at 6:59 AM, at Bullshippers Cafe (who could make that up?), a favorite coffee spot of Julian's. But then there was some time spent getting photos, signing hi-vis vests (stay tuned for more about those), the shoe-and-sock pit stop, and stopping in general more than I expected, so the finish time was approximately 12:30.

*Today's average temperature was about 90.

*The first four miles and a bit were done in Logansport proper. I then followed a route out of town on High Street to County Road 600 E, heading north to County Road 100 N and then on to Indiana 31.

*I consumed 1.3 gallons of water, taking transplant coordinator Tami's good advice to stay hydrated. I also happily consumed the post-walk hot fudge sundae with pecans that Sue bought me at Char-Bett's.





36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page