top of page
  • Writer's picturekfstouse

Day Two is Through: On the Nickel Plate Trail

If you live in central Indiana and have not made your way to the Nickel Plate Trail at Peru, you really should. It is a well-maintained, well-marked trail that offers some nice Wabash River views and a woodsy walk along Little Pipe Creek. I think you'd like it, especially if your preference for nature is something fairly close to a main road. Unlike yesterday's journey, today's was flat (heading south, there is a very gentle incline, hardly noticeable), often without sun, and mostly quiet. The trees and undergrowth enclose the trail and create seclusion for much of the 15 miles I traveled (sometimes a bit more than a solo traveler might want, so take a friend with you). I had never seen the trail before, so I failed to plan for a creekside walk--lots of humidity and lots of deer flies. The humidity decreased a bit with a light morning drizzle, but I wished I hadn't left the bug spray in the car. If you like farm fields, barns, and tiny towns, have I got a trail for you.

Before I got to Bunker Hill (home of the dragstrip and the former Bunker Hill Air Force Base, now Grissom) 6.5 miles from my start, I shared the trail at some point with a grand total of one walker, two cyclists, one squirrel, two bunnies, three little blue butterflies, and seven chipmunks. (Zero snakes--though proximity to the creek on one side and corn fields on the other made me vigilant.) Nearly two miles after Bunker Hill, I was met by colleague Todd Gambill, who ran north from the trailhead in Kokomo. He drew a crowd--in addition to one very large chipmunk, we added a passel of regular and recumbent cyclists , including former colleague Ethel Swartzendruber and her husband Art. That was a special gift.

And having Todd walk with me to Kokomo was another special gift. He appeared just as I was tiring, and he distracted me with great conversation. He also set a steady pace that allowed me to finish in under five hours (which was good considering I got a late start and spent a while in Bunker Hill tending to foot and water issues). Todd is a crazy running man--he eats miles for breakfast and does marathons for fun. He is also a kidney recipient. His best friend/college roommate donated to him a couple of years ago, and you'd never know that Todd was ever ill. He is a walking/running advertisement for how organ donation can transform lives in the best of ways.

Just as we were getting to the last mile, my very favorite walking companion met us. Mr. Jeff has provided so much thoughtful support throughout this adventure, patiently monitoring my progress, driving to the next stop and waiting for me to catch up, assisting with gear, packing food and water, recording the day's timelines, and providing a sympathetic ear when I whine about aches and pains. To see him walking toward me, despite the fact that his knee hurts, made me smile big. Another special gift.

He'll be there tomorrow, too, when we start the day at Friendship Haven in Kokomo. You're welcome to join us....



42 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page