top of page
  • Writer's picturekfstouse

Thank You for Your Support!

Despite the fact that I haven't yet walked an official mile, many nice folks have already made donations, registered with the Indiana Donor Network, and promised to walk with me. I appreciate your faith. One of my sister friends sent me a message today that said, "Julian's smiling." I am, too.

If everything goes to plan, I'll be walking with some very young 70-year-olds, a brand new baby, current and former students, generous colleagues, a kidney recipient who is also a marathoner and a colleague, and a very handsome, very loving, very supportive husband--Jeff. Other folks are sending support in spirit, including members of the transplant team, two Appalachian Trail conquerors, many from my church, current students, a whole wonderful bunch of my dear British friends and family, equally wonderful friends and family closer to home, Innovation Symposium members, and my sister friends who live near and far. And Julian's wife Sue has provided tremendous logistical support, route suggestions, and thoughts of concern and caring (plus an introduction to the ice cream stand I'll be visiting again soon). I am blessed beyond measure. It is my wish and my prayer that this adventure be blessed as well.

I have heard from a few folks that they are surprised the website doesn't have a "Donate Now" option. That's because I don't want anyone to feel obligated to donate, particularly students who might feel pressured. (Perhaps you understand now why I was not gifted at selling Girl Scout cookies, raffle tickets, and bicycles--and why I quit a fire alarm sales job after one day.) So, I won't be getting the names of folks who donate (unless you tell me yourself), and I won't be getting the names of folks who register to be organ donors (unless you tell me yourself).

So how will I know if we reach our goals? I will check in with the three not-for-profits to see who has donated in Julian's honor (so please remember to mark your donations that way). And I will ask for a count of new organ donor registrations in the past few weeks (a more reliable number can be obtained if you self-disclose). But honestly, I feel that the two most important goals have already been achieved: positive actions are adding up, and you are remembering Julian. Many, many thanks for your kindness. When I'm feeling the effects of the especially challenging miles, I'll be thinking of and feeling your support. Bless you!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page